I am in my late 20s and feel I have wasted a lot of time. Is it too late for me to achieve something worthwhile?

Answer by A Quora admin:

When I turned 27 I was:

  • Unemployed, had been for a year
  • Sleeping on a friend's couch
  • Painfully single
  • Wondering if it was too late

I had:

  • No hard skills
  • No work experience worth repeating
  • College grades that didn't open grad school doors I wanted to walk through
  • Scant motivation
  • No direction

I asked my dad for advice and he said: "You can't steer a parked car."

I stopped thinking about what to do and started doing.  I refocused my search on small growing companies and after a dozen rejections I applied for a customer service job at a company I'd never heard of but that seemed interesting. A week later I was working at Bonobos (company) with 25 smart, fun, engaging people. I chipped in on work in different departments and eventually found an application for my natural skills in a career path I hadn't anticipated.  At 29 I'm a beginner in a new role.  It's fantastic.

I can only recommend what I've done: Find some fertile ground. You'll figure the rest out later. There are tons of young companies looking for people who are energetic and capable, but most importantly they're looking for people who care.  Startups require hard work and long hours but if you care about the mission and the quality of your work it'll feel more like a lifestyle than a job.

You only have to be lucky once. I was. Maybe you will be too. There's only one way to find out: Take the car out of park and step on the gas.

I am in my late 20s and feel I have wasted a lot of time. Is it too late for me to achieve something worthwhile?

Leave a Reply

